• What We Do

  • Archives

Song of the Day: “Catch The Wind” by Donovan


I admit to knowing very little about the Scottish born Folk/Rock Artist Donovan except that I like several of his songs.  There seems to have been a very creative period in his life in the mid to late 1960s where he churned out a number of hits and classic albums.   His hippie almost wistful like demeanor easily flows through his music and lyrics and he embodies the vibe of that period perfectly.

While some of his songs have a psychedelic edge or feel to them, he also was capable of writing folk inspired ballads and melodies that are easy on the ear.  He was widely respected by the major heavyweights of music at that time including The Beatles and Bob Dylan.  I’ve found myself putting his music on in the background of many social functions and quiet weekends and it always fits the mood perfectly.  “Catch The Wind” is my favorite tune written by him and it was fun to find a live recording of it on YouTube from that era.  The lyrics are quite poetic worth sharing:

In the chilly hours and minutes,
Of uncertainty, I want to be,
In the warm hold of your loving mind.

To feel you all around me,
And to take your hand, along the sand,
Ah, but I may as well try and catch the wind.

When sundown pales the sky,
I wanna hide a while, behind your smile,
And everywhere I’d look, your eyes I’d find.

For me to love you now,
Would be the sweetest thing, ‘twould make me sing,
Ah, but I may as well, try and catch the wind.

When rain has hung the leaves with tears,
I want you near, to kill my fears
To help me to leave all my blues behind.

For standin’ in your heart,
Is where I want to be, and I long to be,
Ah, but I may as well, try and catch the wind.

Leave a Reply

