• What We Do

  • Archives

Song of the Day: “My Rifle, My Pony and Me” – Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson


One of my favorite movies of all time is Rio Lobo with John Wayne, Dean Martin, Ricky Nelson and Angie Dickinson.  It always takes me back to my childhood and watching cowboy movies with my father.  Time seemed to stand still.  You almost always knew the outcome of a John Wayne movie and you got caught up in the plot/action anyway.  Looking back, it feels like it was a simpler time when the lines were less blurry and our role models appreciated and played their part better (whether it was true or not).  Dad never had to worry about what was on the screen. It was a great father-son bonding experience.

I’ve always been astounded by Dean Martin’s talent.  He was a child of Italian immigrants who preferred to speak his native language in private yet he became a first rate movie star and even better singer in the language of his parents adopted country.  His range as an actor was much broader than he was ever given credit for because he was so smooth at it.   His singing voice was just incredible.  He could make anything sound good and it never looked like hard work to him.  This particular song “My Rifle, My Pony and Me” matches him with Ricky Nelson (another great singing talent). The tune has a country music slant to it which is an unusual style for Dean and he pulls it off flawlessly. It is clear that John Wayne can’t help but appreciate the moment.  I was very happy to find this clip on You Tube.

Leave a Reply

