• What We Do

  • Archives

Song of the Day: “Take Five” – Dave Brubeck Quartet


I am embarrassed to say that I first got introduced to the songTake Five by the Dave Brubeck Quartet as the intro music to a British sitcom.  (although I must say that British television shows typically do have great music).  I was immediately taken.  It is the perfect jazz song as far as I am concerned.  The beat is almost hypnotic and the saxophone playing sublime.  The piano playing is equally enjoyable.  I find the album Time Out to be fitting background music for just about any occasion.  It’s easy to get lost in the musical vibe.

Of all the musical genres, I find jazz the most relaxing.  I used to enjoy going to jazz clubs and watching the musicians play.   In almost every case the band seemed to be happy and enjoyed playing with one another.  There is a liberating freedom in the flexibility of the song structure and an innate willingness to jam and let the music go where it feels right to take it.  I get the sense that jazz musicians play for themselves and their love of the music more than any need for external validation or fame.  Very few of them make any real money at their trade.  They’d happily be doing it if there wasn’t a crowd which is the mark of a true artist.

Leave a Reply

