• What We Do

  • Archives

Song of the Day: Neil Diamond – “Heartlight”


There are perfect moments in life.  Sometimes they are simple quiet moments.  I tucked my kids in bed not too long ago after watching a Walt Disney movie with them.  I read a book to my daughter, we said our prayers and then I received a deep hug from my son and a big smile as our puppy slept comfortably on his bedroom floor.  It really doesn’t get any better than this.

For some reason the song “Heartlight” by Neil Diamond popped into my head.  I’ve always had a soft spot for this song.  It’s most famous for being inspired by the movie  E.T.  the Extra-Terrestrial.  I didn’t realize it was co-written by songwriting heavyweights Burt Bacharach and Carole Bayer Sager.  Rumor has it they wrote it after watching the movie.  There is an innocence and hopefulness about the movie that is captured perfectly in this song.  There is also a wistfulness that only people in the mid part of their lives could feel and express about childhood.  It all happens so quickly first for us and then our children.

I really like the video with still photos from the film that someone put together on YouTube.  It really is an amazing website that unleashes so much artistic creativity.  I’m thankful that I was able to find it so quickly and insert into this blog to end a perfect evening.  Give your kids lots of hugs.  They need it and so do you.  Parenthood is a gift that ends far too quickly. 

I felt the lyrics were worth sharing:

Come back again
I want you to stay next time
‘Cause sometimes the world ain’t kind
When people get lost like you and me

I just made a friend
A friend is someone you need
But now that he had to go away
I still feel the words that he might say

Turn on your heartlight
Let it shine wherever you go
Let it make a happy glow
For all the world to see
Turn on your heartlight
In the middle of a young boy’s dream
Don’t wake me up too soon
Gonna take a ride across the moon
You and me

He’s lookin’ for home
‘Cause everyone needs a place
And home’s the most excellent place of all
And I’ll be right here if you should call me

Turn on your heartlight
Let it shine wherever you go
Let it make a happy glow
For all the world to see
Turn on your heartlight
In the middle of a young boy’s dream
Don’t wake me up too soon
Gonna take a ride across the moon
You and me

And home’s the most excellent place of all
And I’ll be right here if you should call me
Turn on your heartlight
Let it shine wherever you go
Let it make a happy glow
For all the world to see
Turn on your heartlight
In the middle of a young boy’s dream
Don’t wake me up too soon
Gonna take a ride across the moon
You and me
Turn on your heartlight now
Turn on your heartlight now

Leave a Reply

