• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Morrissey – “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out”


I remember the first time I heard The Smiths I was totally blown away.  The music and lyrics were not like anything I had heard before.  Johnny Marr still to this day makes a guitar do things in a layered simple melodic way that very few of his contemporaries can pull off – he never over plays or unnecessarily seeks the musical spotlight.  Morrissey may be one of the most unique lyricists and singers of my lifetime.  There is a mellow yearning and real emotion to his songs that only and understated Englishman could pull off.  Instead of being in your face, he subtly reaches in and touches your soul.  If you’ve been a fan for awhile you definitely get the sense he lets you into his life and is willing to be purely vulnerable about whatever he is experiencing. 

Sadly, The Smiths broke up quite some time ago, but both Morrissey and Johnny Marr continue to live vibrant musical lives and we are all the better for it.  I have always been a fan of the song “There is A Light That Never Goes Out” and so have their peers like Neil Finn and Noel Gallagher who enjoy playing great cover versions of it.  The video I found was of Morrissey from 2005.  Enjoy! 

Take me out tonight
Where there’s music and there’s people
Who are young and alive
Driving in your car
I never never want to go home
Because I haven’t got one anymore

Take me out tonight
Because I want to see people
And I want to see life
Driving in your car
Oh please don’t drop me home
Because it’s not my home, it’s their home
And I’m welcome no more

And if a double-decker bus
Crashes into us
To die by your side
Is such a heavenly way to die
And if a ten ton truck
Kills the both of us
To die by your side
Well the pleasure, the privilege is mine

Take me out tonight
Take me anywhere, I don’t care
I don’t care, I don’t care
And in the darkened underpass
I thought Oh God, my chance has come at last
But then a strange fear gripped me
And I just couldn’t ask

Take me out tonight
Oh take me anywhere, I don’t care
I don’t care, I don’t care
Driving in your car
I never never want to go home
Because I haven’t got one
No, I haven’t got one

And if a double-decker bus
Crashes in to us
To die by your side
Is such a heavenly way to die
And if a ten ton truck
Kills the both of us
To die by your side
Well the pleasure, the privilege is mine

There is a light that never goes out
There is a light that never goes out
There is a light that never goes out
There is a light that never goes out

Leave a Reply

