• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: The Moody Blues – “Watching and Waiting”


I have been a fan of The Moody Blues ever since I was a little boy.  The songwriting is top notch and musical compositions always thoughtful and refined.  You can tell the members of this band consider their craft an art form.  They pull from a myriad of musical influences and use a wide variety of instruments and arrangements.  Unlike many of their peers who got caught up in the non-musical aspects of being a rock star, they’ve seemed to stay true to their vocation and each other in a career that has lasted almost 50 years.

While many of the members assume songwriting responsibilities, I especially like the efforts of Justin Hayward who is also the lead singer.  He wrote music in his late teenage years and  twenties which is quite powerful and hard to fathom coming from someone that age.   The song “Watching and Waiting” is a personal favorite.  A fan posted a video which I feel captures the vibe perfectly.

Watching and waiting
For a friend to play with
Why have I been alone so long
Mole he is burrowing his way to the sunlight
He knows there’s some there so strong

Cos here there’s lot of room for doing
The thing you’ve always been denied
Look and gather all you want to
There’s no one here to stop you trying

Soon you will see me
Cos I’ll be all around you
But where I come from I can’t tell
But don’t be alarmed by my fields and my forests
They’re here for only you to share

Cos here there’s lot of room for doing
The things you’ve always been denied
So look and gather all you want to
There’s no one here to stop you trying

Watching and waiting
For someone to understand me
I hope it won’t be very long

Leave a Reply

