• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Nick Drake – “Northern Sky”


Sometimes an artist comes along and touches the world for a short time and leaves.  Nick Drake had a fairly unheralded career while he was alive but thankfully this has changed with time.  Sadly, he passed away at a young age in the early 1970s, but not after creating some pretty amazing songs.  Good music is like good wine. It only gets better with age.  There is a timeless essence to the work of great songwriters.  Their best efforts travel with you rather than getting limited to any one point in time.  Quite often the meaning and impact only becomes more profound as you age, grow and experience life.

There is a vulnerability to Nick’s music and lyrics that is hard not to embrace.  It’s almost as if he was writing from the edge of our human experience and hoping we would take notice.  I’m guessing that in the end he was just too sensitive for this world.  His artistic approach was to communicate gently and subtlety through simple yet deep music and lyrics.   The song, Northern Sky is one of my favorite examples of his special talent.

I never felt magic crazy as this
I never saw moons knew the meaning of the sea
I never held emotion in the palm of my hand
Or felt sweet breezes in the top of a tree
But now you’re here
Bright in my northern sky.

It’s been a long time that I’m waiting
Been a long time that I’m blown
been a long time that I’ve wandered
Through the people I have known
Oh, if you would and you could
Straighten my new mind’s eye.

Would you love me for my money
Would you love me for my head
Would you love me through the winter
Would you love me ’til I’m dead
Oh, if you would and you could
Come blow your horn on high.

I never felt magic crazy as this
I never saw moons knew the meaning of the sea
I never held emotion in the palm of my hand
Or felt sweet breezes in the top of a tree
But now you’re here
Bright in my northern sky.

There aren’t that many video clips of Nick available, but a fan created the following video which captures the vibe perfectly.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

