• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Porcupine Tree– “Lazarus”


Thank goodness for British music magazines.  I am regularly introduced to artists that I never would have come across through other means.  So much of what constitutes popular music these days is formulaic and uninspiring (at least for me); however there are still many artists out writing great songs.

The band Porcupine Tree has been around for a while now and I always look forward to hearing what they have to offer.  Steven Wilson is a very talented songwriter who can craft music on many different levels.  He has also been involved in many interesting artistic collaborations.  I am regularly amazed by his range and depth.  I’ve heard the band is well worth seeing live and hope to catch them one day.  I’ve chosen the song Lazarus because from the time I first heard it, I lost track of everything else that going on around me and got caught up in the vibe of what he was trying to communicate – quite subtle yet powerful.

As the cheerless towns pass my window
I can see a washed out moon through the fog
And then a voice inside my head, breaks the analogue
And says

“Follow me down to the valley below You know
Moonlight is bleeding from out of your soul”

I survived against the will of my twisted folk
But in the deafness of my world the silence broke
And said

“Follow me down to the valley below You know
Moonlight is bleeding from out of your soul”

“My David don’t you worry
This cold world is not for you
So rest your head upon me
I have strength to carry you”

(Ghosts of the twenties rising Golden summers just holding you)

“Follow me down to the valley below You know
Moonlight is bleeding from out of your soul
Come to us, Lazarus
It’s time for you to go”

2 Responses

  1. Yes, Lazarus is one of their best for sure.
    Another favourite of mine – in a similar feel – is “My Ashes” from the “Fear of a blank planet” album.
    And if you have not already heard of it – check out “Dark Matter” from the “Signify” album.

  2. Thank you so much for linking my post! This is a wonderful review of my absolute favorite band! I was lucky enough to be able to meet Steven Wilson in person, and he was such a kind and approachable guy. Thanks for getting the word out about one of the most talented bands in modern music!

Leave a Reply

