• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Bruce Springsteen – “Light of Day”


There’s not much I could add to the litany and reviews and articles that have been written about Bruce Springsteen except to echo that I believe he is certainly one of the top songwriters and performers of my lifetime.  He is an artist in the truest sense of the word and uses his considerable talents and abilities to reflect back on our human condition in all its various and sundry complexities.  He also courageously never shies away from social or political commentary in his songs whether you agree with him or not.  Taking the musical journey with Bruce is akin to looking into the mirror of your own life (and country) and reflecting back one where you are, where you’ve been and where you may be going. 

The song “Light of Day” was originally written by Bruce for the somewhat emotionally bleak yet powerful movie of the same title by Jonathan Demme and performed by Joan Jett and Michael J. Fox.  They did a great job, but no one can match the intensity of Bruce who has made it a regular staple in his live shows ever since then.  I like the idea that no matter what happens to us in our lives, we are just around the corner to the light of day…

Well I’ve been out of the woods for six days and nights now
Well I’m a little hot wired, but I’m feeling alright
I got some money in my pocket and a long lean ride
I got to make it down to Galveston by Saturday night, now

Well I’m a little down under, but I’m feeling O.K.
Got a little lost along the way

I’m just around the corner to the light of day
Well, I’m just around the corner to the light of day

Been driving five hundred miles, got five hundred to go, yeah
I got rock and roll music on the radio
I got a brother on a rig just off the gulf coast
He says the girls down there, well they’re really the most, man

Well I’m a little down under, but I’m feeling O.K.
I got a little lost along the way

Just around the corner to the light of day
Just around the corner to the light of day
I’m just around the corner to the light of day
I’m just around the corner to the light of day

Well I got thrown out of work on the Kokomo
Don’t ask me what I’m doing, I don’t know
I hope he wasn’t joking when he wrote me that letter
Things can’t get any worse, they got to get better

Well I’m a little down under, but I’m feeling O.K.
I got a little lost along the way

I’m just around the corner to the light of day
Just around the corner to the light of day
Just around the corner to the light of day

Related articles

Leave a Reply

