• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Coldplay With Michael Stipe – “In The Sun”


When I first heard the song “In The Sun” by Coldplay and Michael Stipe several years ago I was blown away.  Little did I know it was a cover version of an original composition by Joseph Arthur.  Moreover, Peter Gabriel also remade the song in his own unique way and it was equally powerful. You know you are doing something right when you have artists of this caliber covering your music.

Admittedly, I know very little about Joseph Arthur but now hope to learn more.  I do know that this song came along at a time in my life when it was highly relevant and personal.  Losing someone close to you is never easy. I don’t even know if he was inspired by a situation similar to mine or something completely different, but that is the beauty of songwriting.  The artist puts their work out there and we make it our own. I’ve decided to include all three versions in this post so you can select your own favorite. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

