• What We Do

  • Archives

Song Of The Weekend: Paul McCartney & Wings – “Mull of Kintyre”


I have always been a fan of Paul McCartney since I was a young boy.  I literally grew up with an English brother-in-law who was also a big fan and who played his music all the time.  It’s amazing how the songs still holds up.  When I hear them, I am transported back to a childhood of much joy and simplicity.  What I have always like about McCartney as a songwriter is his ability to write a beautiful melody.  Unlike John Lennon his Beatles songwriting partner, there is rarely any anger in his music.  It always came across to me that he was a happy family man who loved his wife and kids and was comfortable in his own skin.  He also has a special ability to humanize his music and make it feel like he is writing for you.

Not many people could have followed up the success of The Beatles with the often underappreciated success he had with his band the Wings.  In the 1970s their music literally dominated the radio airwaves.  If I hear those songs today I can still sing along with them and smile when I do so.  My appreciation for the bagpipes and my Scottish ancestry made it easy to like the song Mull of Kintyre.”  I found this video from 35 years ago and I believe it reflects his musical vibe perfectly.  At that point in his career he nothing to prove and you can tell he wrote this song for the joy of doing it.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

